Tahir Warraich of the Independent Group elected president of the LHCBA


LAHORE: Tahir Nasarullah Warraich of the Independent Group, previously headed by the late Asma Jahangir, has landed the post of President of the Lahore High Court Bar Association for the year 2020-21.

He beat Mr. Maqsood Buttar of the professional group led by Hamid Khan.

Warraich collected 5,900 votes while his opponent Buttar obtained 3,971. Chaudhry Wilayat Ali was the third and an independent candidate, was able to obtain only 636 votes, according to the results announced by the chairman of the electoral committee, Imran Masood . Warraich was supported by the President of the Supreme Court Bar Association Syed Kalb-e-Hasaan, Ahsan Bhoon, Azam Nazir Tarar, Abid Saqi (members of the Pakistan Bar Council), outgoing president of LHCBA Hafeezur Rehman Chaudhry, president in exercise of the Lahore Bar Association (LBA) GA Khan Tariq. The lawyer wing of the PML-N and the PTI also supported Warraich. With the victory at the LHCBA, the Independent Group, now led by Ahsan Bhoon, seized the presidency of the three main bar associations, including the SCBA, LBA and LHCBA. Pakistan Bar Council vice-chairman Abid Saqi is also a member of the Independent Group.

Analysts believe a poor move by the professional group saw them defeat in the LHCBA polls as Warraich was a staunch supporter of the group, but he broke up after his first-place bid was rejected by the central committee of the group. If the professional group had nominated Warraich as a candidate, they would not have easily won the chair’s seat, they added.

Chaudhry Saeed Hussain Nagra won 5,739 votes to become LHCBA vice-president. His opponent Mudassar Abbas Magiana obtained 1,891 votes, Tauseef Khalid Khatana 1,541 and M Ayub Khan 1,268 votes. Haroon Dugal was elected secretary with 6,270 votes. His opponent Akhtar Ali Pada obtained 2,692 votes and Danial Ijaz Chaddar obtained 1,513 votes.

Zeeshan Sulehrya was elected finance secretary after obtaining 3,507 votes while his five opponents Rana Waseem Yousaf Khan obtained 2,406, Faisal Tauqeer Sial 2,165, Rana Ali Akhtar Khan 1,867, Mahr Arshad 297 and Mian M Ahmad Majeed received 157 votes. No less than 10,543 members of the bar exercised their right to vote, out of a total of 19,665 eligible voters.

Source link


About Author

Leave A Reply