Council Election 20211: Caerphilly Independent Group



ON MAY 5, residents will have the chance to decide who leads Caerphilly County Borough Council.

There are a total of 69 seats spread across 31 wards.

Elected councilors form political groups within the council, and the group with the largest number controls authority. This is usually done along party lines, although independent non-party councilors may also form their own group.

Here is an overview of the independent candidates.

Twenty-two independent candidates are standing in the Caerphilly council elections on May 5.

Independents are not affiliated with any party and therefore have their own goals and aspirations for their neighborhood.

Currently, there are six independent councilors in Caerphilly County Borough Council, some of whom have formed an independent group led by Kevin Etheridge.

Mr Etheridge represents Blackwood and is campaigning for re-election.

Being part of a group or party allows councilors to serve on review panels, which independent candidates cannot do alone.

Although Mr Etheridge is the current leader of the Independents group, he said that could change after the election.

If the independent candidates win the election, it will be up to them to decide if they form a group and elect a leader.

Mr Etheridge described the candidates running this year as “independent” people who seek “openness and transparency”.

He added: “If there is a major issue, they will consult with the community and vote for what is best for the residents, not along party lines – there is no whip.”

Where are the independent candidates located?

Aberbargoed and Bargoed: Three seats.

  • Belinda Gingell
  • Rob Puddefoot

Argoed: A seat.

Blackwood: Three seats.

  • Nigel Stuart Dix
  • Kevin Etheridge
  • Andrew Farina Childs

Cefn Fforest and Pengam: Three seats.

  • George Edwards
  • Gerwyn James
  • Louise Phillips

Darran Valley: One seat.

Nelson: Two seats.

New Tredegar: Two seats.

  • Tracey Gifford
  • Faebian Vann

Pontllanfraith: Three seats.

  • Laura Jane Richards
  • James Freeman Wells
  • Roy Williams

Risca West: Two seats.

Twyn Carno: One seat.

Ynysddu: Two seats.

This is part of a series of articles outlining the parties that will stand in areas of Gwent Council in next month’s election.

  • To see all of Caerphilly’s candidates in next month’s election, click here.

Source link


About Author

Comments are closed.